BACK-TO-BACK WIN. (From L-R, Alikhan Miguel Lagapa, John Alek Nacaytuna, Caremela Naciongayo, Catherine Miranda, Engr. Louie Jamora, Campus Dir., and Mr. Andy Wong) Prudent Pegasus emerged victorious as John Alek Nacaytuna and Carmela Naciongayo captured the title Mr. and Ms. Pisay 2018 during the 2nd Founding Anniversary of PSHS-ZRC.

Prudent Pegasus’ contenders Carmela Naciongayo and John Alek Nacaytuna captured the title “Mr. and Ms. PISAY 2018” last January 12, 2018 held at the Dipolog Sports Complex, Olingan, Dipolog City.

Mr. and Miss Pisay is an annual pageant open to all students of Philippine Science High School-ZRC in celebration of its Founding Anniversary. Unlike other in-campus competitions, this pageant not only showcases talents and skills of the students, but also beauty and intelligence.

Carmela Naciongayo, a grade 7 student of PSHS-ZRC, outwitted six other female contestants during the pageant. On the other hand, John Alek Nacaytuna, a grade 8 student also outshone seven other male candidates. Naciongayo and Nacaytuna were both inspired by their own empire to join the pageant which they dominated. It was a back-to-back victory for the empire Prudent Pegasus.

For the final round, Naciongayo was asked which laboratory apparatus she would be, and she said, “I want to be a beaker because it’s an essential laboratory apparatus which contains chemicals that could improve our society.

Meanwhile, Nacaytuna’s final question was “What would you say if you meet someone who thinks pageants are a bad influence to the society?” He answered, “I would tell the person that I respect his/her opinion but at the same time, enlighten him/her that pageants are respectable activities.”

Other contestants who went home with a crown were Rio Victor Martinez from the Empire Shinobi Beast and Maurice Dawn Tejano from the Empire Prudent Pegasus who won as first runners-up. However, Joseph Allen Benitez of the Empire Prudent Pegasus and Juliene Avril Dalman of the Empire Resilient Phoenix won as second runners-up.

Mr. Andy Wong and Mr. Carlo Salimbangon, faculty members from the SMT Department, organized and spearheaded the prestigious pageant.

By: Clicel Ramon Paculba